BJD gets another member in Odisha Assly as Rita Sahu takes oath as MLA

Bhubaneswar: The number of Biju Janata Dal (BJD) members in the Odisha Legislative Assembly mounted to 118 as newly-elected Bijepur MLA Rita Sahu today took oath as legislator.

Sahu, winner of the recently concluded by-poll to the Bijepur Assembly Constituency, took oath at the chamber of State Assembly Speaker Pradip Amat.

The Speaker administered the oath of office and secrecy to her in the presence of Parliamentary Affairs Minister Bikram Keshari Arukh and several BJD leaders.

Worth mentioning, BJD candidate Rita Sahu had defeated her nearest rival and BJP candidate Ashok Panigrahi in the by-poll by a magnanimous margin of 41933 votes.

The by-election was necessitated following the death of Congress MLA and Rita Sahu’s husband Subal Sahu in August, 2017. Rita was inducted into BJD in September 23, last year.

Also Read

Comments are closed.