Bypoll to one Rajya Sabha seat from Odisha on June 13; Know key dates

Bhubaneswar: Bypoll to a Rajya Sabha seat from Odisha will be held on June 13, said a notification issued by the Election Commission of India (ECI) today.

The seat fell vacant after Subhash Chandra Singh resigned from the post after being elected as the Mayor of the Cuttack Municipal Corporation (CMC) in March, this year.

As per ECI’s notification, the polling will be held from 9 am to 4 pm on June 13. The counting of votes will take place at 5 pm on the very day.

Below are other key dates of the bypoll.

Sl. No



Issue of Notifications 26th May, 2022 (Thursday)
Last date of making nominations 02nd June, 2022 (Thursday)
Scrutiny of nominations 03rd June, 2022 (Friday)
Last date for withdrawal of candidatures 06th June, 2022 (Monday)
Date of Poll 13th June, 2022 (Monday)
Hours of Poll 09:00 am- 04:00 pm
Counting of Votes 13th June, 2022 (Monday) at 05:00 pm
Date before which election shall be completed 17th June, 2022 (Friday)

The ECI has directed the Odisha Chief Secretary to depute a senior officer from the State to ensure that the extant instructions regarding COVID-19 containment measures are complied with while making arrangements for conducting the bypoll.

Also Read

Comments are closed.