Campaign gains momentum for Bijepur bypoll in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: The campaign for the bypoll to Bijepur Assembly constituency in Odisha’s Bargarh district has gained momentum with the three major political parties leaving no stone unturned to woo the voters.

The leaders of Biju Janata Dal (BJD), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Congress have intensified their campaigning in the constituency which will go to polls on October 21.

BJD president and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Thursday canvassed for party candidate Rita Sahu.

During the campaign, Patnaik requested the people to vote for BJD for the all-round development of the constituency.

He will also campaign for the party candidate on Friday. A number of ministers and senior BJD leaders have already camped in the Assembly segment after the announcement of the poll date.

The BJP also accelerated the pace of its campaign with party heavyweights addressing several meetings across the constituency.

While Union Petroleum Minister Dharmendra Pradhan has already campaigned, state BJP president Basant Panda, senior leaders K.V. Singh Deo and Suresh Pujari campaigned for party candidate Sanath Gartia.

Pradhan is scheduled to hold four roadshows in the constituency on Friday, said party sources.

“Naveen Patnaik has betrayed the people of Bijepur. He also played with their emotions. People will give a befitting reply to the BJD on October 21,” said the state BJP president.

On the other hand, the Congress camp appears to be in a demoralising position even though the party leaders are canvassing in the seat for Dillip Panda.

“It does not seem good for the Congress in the upcoming Bijepur bypoll because we don’t have funds like Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Naveen Patnaik. We even cannot match the amount of posters and party flags they have put up for the campaign,” said Congress MLA Suresh Routray.

The bypoll was necessitated after Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, who won from both Bijepur and Hinjili Assembly constituencies, vacated the Bijepur seat.

The counting of votes will be held on October 24. (IANS)

Also Read

Comments are closed.