Coal Scam: SC issues notices to Odisha and 6 other states

OST Bureau

New Delhi, Sep 26:

The Supreme Court on Thursday issued notices to seven state governments including Odisha in the coal block allocation scam.


The state governments which have been issued notices are the government of Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Odisha, West Bengal, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh and Andhra Pradesh.

The apex court in its questions pertaining to the coal scam asked how the state governments understand the process of allocation of coal block by the Centre. It also enquired about the role of state government in the allocation.

The court also raised questions regarding the role of the state government subsequent to grant of leases and the details of agreement entered by state public sector units with the private parties. (SPM)

Also Read

Comments are closed.