Congress loses by big margins in Delhi

New Delhi, Feb 10:

The Congress fared badly in most of the 70 constituencies in Delhi Tuesday, with at least one of its candidates losing by over 95,000 votes.

congress logoCongress’ Kiran Walia who had slapped a case against AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal asking the poll panel to bar him from contesting, managed to garner merely 4,781 votes in the New Delhi constituency. Kejriwal was declared winner with 57,213 votes.

In Trilokpuri, which was hit by communal riots recently, Congress’ Brahm Pal could get only 4,149 votes, over 70,000 votes behind Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) winner Raju Dhingan.

Only 6,102 people voted for Congress candidate and President Pranab Mukherjee’s daughter Sharmistha Mukherjee in the Greater Kailash constituency, while the AAP’s Saurabh Bharadwaj got 57,589 votes.

In the Krishna Nagar constituency, while BJP’s chief ministerial candidate Kiran Bedi, who lost to AAP’s S.K. Bagga, got around 63,000 votes, Congress candidate Bansi Lal could muster barely over 6,000 votes.

AAP’s Somnath Bharti won the Malviya Nagar seat with 51,196 votes, while Congress’ Yoganand Sharma got a paltry 5,555 votes.

AAP’s Dinesh Mohaniya dominated the Sangam Vihar seat with over 72,000 votes. Congress’ Vishan Swaroop Aggarwal got only 3,423 votes in this constituency where a majority of the electors live in a slum colony.

The verdict was no different in Burari where Congress’ J.S. Chauhan got less than 4,000 votes. AAP’s Sanjeev Jha was way ahead with over 80,000 votes.

In Karawal Nagar constituency in east Delhi, Congress’ Satan Pal Dayma who managed only 5,362 votes lost by 96,503 votes to AAP’s Kapil Mishra who garnered 101,865 votes.

Similarly, Congress’ Suresh Kumar got 4,699 votes in Janakpuri constituency, while the winning candidate, AAP’s Rajesh Rishi won by a margin of over 67,000 votes. (IANS)

Also Read

Comments are closed.