Congress names chiefs of Seemandhra, Telangana

Hyderabad, March 11 :

The Congress Tuesday named N. Raghuveera Reddy and Ponnala Lakshmaiah as the presidents of its Seemandhra and Telangana units respectively.

Ponnal Llakshmaiah
Ponnal Llakshmaiah

With the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh, the Congress formed separate committees for the two states.

Botsa Satyanaryana, who was heading party unit of undivided Andhra Pradesh, was not included in the panel announced for Seemandhra or residuary state of Andhra Pradesh.

Both Raghuveera Reddy and Lakshamaiah were ministers in the cabinet of Kiran Kumar Reddy, who resigned as chief minister last month to protest the state’s division.

The party named central minister K. Chiranjeevi as head of the election campaign committee in Seemandhra. Senior leader Anam Ramnarayana Reddy will head the manifesto committee.

Raghuveera Reddy
Raghuveera Reddy

Former Andhra Pradesh deputy chief minister Damodar Rajanarasimha has been appointed as the chairman of the campaign committee for Telangana. Former minister Uttam Kumar Reddy will head the manifesto committee.

Raghuveera Reddy told reporters in Anantapur that he is taking up the responsibility at a difficult time. He vowed to strengthen the party with the support of all leaders and workers of the party.  (IANS)

Also Read

Comments are closed.