Debutants Gangpur beat Assam 10-0 hockey nationals

Lucknow, March 1 :

Ashish Anmol Minz struck three goals to give Gangpur (Odisha) an emphatic 10-0 win over Assam in Pool C on Day 3 of the fourth Hockey India (HI) National Championship at Major Dhyan Chand Hockey Stadium here Saturday.

Other scorers for Gangpur were Amarjeet Ekka and Banamali Xess, who scored two goals each, while William Xalxo, Shushil Kiro and Kishor Lakra contributed one

In the other Pool C match, Mizoram registered their first win against Tripura 6-1. Mizoram took an early lead (6th minute) with a field goal by Ramtharanghaka. Later, Lalrinnunga struck two goals while Lalremsanga, Zohingthanga, and M.S. Dawngliana scored one each. For Tripura, Shanawas Hussain struck the loan goal.

In another Pool C match, Sunil Shah and Susheel Gupta struck two goals each for Bengal who beat Puducherry 6-2. Other scorers for Bengal were Sunil Kujur and Pramod Kumar Singh. V. Karthikeyan and Manthana Pradyumnavarama scored one each for Puducherry.

In Pool D, Vidarbha beat Kerala by 2-1. Imran Sheikh and Ather Mirza scored a goal each for Vidarbha while Sudheeh P. scored for Kerala.

In the other Pool D match, Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) defeated Delhi 3-1. Prashant Tirkey, Rajinder Singh and Rajesh Kindo struck a goal each for CRPF and Meet Singh scored for Delhi.

Earlier, Maharashtra played out a 4-4 draw against Chhattisgarh in Pool D.


Pool C: Gangpur 10 beat Assam 0; Mizoram 6 beat Tripura 1; Bengal 6 beat Puducherry 2.

Pool D: Vidarbha 2 beat Kerala 1; CRPF 3 beat Delhi 1; Maharashtra 4 drew Chhattisgarh 4.


Also Read

Comments are closed.