EC allots 87 symbols for unrecognised pol parties, Independents

Bhubaneswar, Mar 27:

The Election Commission of India (ECI) has allotted 87 free symbols to 30 registered un-recognised political parties and Independent candidates contesting the ensuing polls in Odisha.Election Symbols

Besides, six recognised parties – the Indian National Congress, Bharatiya Janata Party, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Communist Party of India (CPI), CPI (Marxist) and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP)- and the regional party Biju Janata Dal (BJD) will fight the election with their reserved symbols.

However, the Commission has allotted different symbols to the registered unrecognised parties, who had applied before the commission for symbols within three days of election declaration in consonance with the rule of Election symbols (Reservation and Allotment) order, 1968.

Aama Odisha Party, Odisha Jana Morcha, Samata Kranti Patry, Utkal Bharat, Samrudha Odisha and Koshal Mukti etc have already got their symbols and they can contest the elections on the allotted symbols, said an official of chief electoral office here.

However, if the registered unrecognised parties failed to field their candidates in all the 21 Lok Sabha and 147 Assembly seats, then the returning officer can give the allotted symbols to Independent candidates, where the unrecognised parties have not fielded their candidates.

Also Read

Comments are closed.