Five from Odisha in list of 100 Smart Cities approved by Centre

Odisha Sun Times Bureau
New Delhi, Apr 30:

Five cities from Odisha have found place in the list of 100 cities approved by the Union Cabinet on Wednesday to be developed into smart cities. They are Bhubaneswar, Cuttack, Rourkela, Sambalpur and Baleswar.

smart city

The smart cities project would entail an outlay of Rs.48, 000 crore, according to official sources.

The cabinet meeting chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, also gave its approval to the Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation of 500 cities (AMRUT) with an outlay of Rs.50,000 crore. The Central government will be investing Rs 42,900 crore under JNNURM in the next nine years.

The mission of building 100 smart cities intends to promote adoption of smart solutions for efficient use of available assets, resources and infrastructure with the objective of enhancing the quality of urban life and providing a clean and sustainable environment.

Also Read

Comments are closed.