Five tribal groups to boycott polls in Koraput dist

Odisha Sun Times Bureau

Koraput, Mar 11:

Feeling let down after the government failed to accord them tribal status, five tribal communities in Odisha’s Koraput district have decided to boycott the forthcoming Assembly and Lok Sabha polls to register their protest.

Coming together under an umbrella organization Koraput Zilla Bana Basi Maha Sangh (KZBBS), leaders of Dora, Muka Dora, Nuka Dora, Rana and Mali tribals are said to have taken the decision over the weekend.

“Around two lakh voters from these five communities” will not be exercising their franchise in the upcoming twin polls, said Trinath Gamel, secretary of KZBBS.

He said the Sangh had approached both the state and Union governments on several occasions on their demands but all in vain.

KZBBS president Gokul Chandra Khoda lamented that the members of these communities were deprived of various benefits meant for tribals and demanded their inclusion in the list of  Scheduled Tribes and a special project for their development.

It may be mentioned here that people belonging to these communities mostly reside in Pottangi, Semiliguda and Nandapur blocks of Koraput district and earn their livelihood through  minor cultivation and collection of minor forest produce.

Also Read

Comments are closed.