Former Congress MLA quits party in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: In another blow to Odisha Congress which already slipped to a distant third position in the recently-concluded Assembly election, its former Paralakhemundi MLA K Surya Rao has resigned from the party today.

The former legislator has sent his resignation letter to All India Congress Committee (AICC) President Rahul Gandhi.

Surya Rao, sources said, has quit the party alleging he was “ignored” and “sidelined” by the state leadership in the last election.

He had contested the 2019 elections on Congress ticket but lost to K Narayan Rao of BJP.

In 2014, Surya Rao had defeated K Narayan Rao, who had then contested on BJD ticket, by 1,454 votes.





Also Read

Comments are closed.