The high and the mighty at Odisha Power list -2016

Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, May 4: 

The unveiling of the first edition of ‘Odisha Power List 2016’ was conducted in a power-packed function at the Mayfair Convention Centre of Odisha capital on Tuesday.

Screen shot 2016-05-04 at 3.53.36 PM

The mega event, organized by KANAK NEWS, was attended by top political leaders including Excise Minister Damodar Rout, Agriculture Minister Pradeep Maharathi, Law Minister Arun Sahu, Health Minister Atanu Sabyasachi Nayak and many other big guns from the media industry among others.

The function started with Soumya Ranjan Patnaik, Chairman of Eastern Media Limited, welcoming the audience and the guests. Former union cabinet minister Mani Shankar Aiyar delivered the keynote address based on the theme ‘Power and the illusion of power’.

He was felicitated by Tanaya Patnaik , Executive Director of Eastern Media Limited.

Screen shot 2016-05-04 at 3.55.53 PM“Everyone is desperate for power. Those who are in power aspire for more of it,” said Aiyar in his speech. He further elaborated on his view of power and its various phases mesmerizing the audience. Aiyar, in his address, quoted many examples including of Bill Clinton, Tony Blair, Mahatma Gandhi and Major Tito among others making the address move lively and added, “One has to step down from power no matter how powerful he becomes”.  

‘Some become powerful due to their official designations whereas some are powerful even without a post’ was the single-most important outcome of the discussion.

Screen shot 2016-05-04 at 3.57.21 PMIn the second session, a lively panel discussion was hosted by Editor of Kanak News Manoranjan Mishra and Associate News Editor Swayam Prakash Mahapatra. The panel consisted of SNMT Chairman Suporno Satpathy, renowned social activist and former Information Commissioner Jagadananda and President of Institute for Social Development Namrata Chadha.

The countdown for the Top 10 in the list was conducted and was discussed through an interactive session between the audience and the panel. The sessions were interspersed sometimes with humour, fiery arguments and witty comments from the leaders while taking questions.

Screen shot 2016-05-04 at 3.58.56 PMThe third and final session of the panel discussion had BJD Spokesperson Pratap Deb, senior BJP leader Bijoy Mohapatra and Congress Spokesperson Ghaneswara Behera discussing and answering questions from the audience.

The top five in the power list was announced by the hosts and on top of the list was Chief Minister of the state Naveen Patnaik – as per popular voting. While second in the list was Union Minister of Petroleum & Natural Gas Dharmendra Pradhan, Private Secretary to the Chief Minister V. Karthikeyan Pandian was ranked third.

The top 10 of ‘Odisha Power List – 2016’ can be seen here.

Also Read

Comments are closed.