Hockey WC: Four from Odisha find place in Core Group for National Camp

Bhubaneswar: As many as four players from Odisha have secured berths in the 34-member Core Group for the final National Camp before the Hockey Men’s World Cup scheduled to be held at the Kalinga Hockey Stadium here.

The selected players from the state are Birendra Lakra, Shilanand Lakra, Amit Rohidas and Suman Beck.

The 34 National Campers, will report to Chief Coach Harendra Singh for a 23-day long training camp which concludes on 23rd November ahead of the much-awaited quadrennial event.

The National Camp will give Chief Coach Harendra Singh the chance to work with the Core Group and pick his final 18-member Indian Men’s Hockey Team for the Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup. The World No. 5 team will look to prepare for the mega-event by training in the host city to get acclimatized to the conditions before they start their campaign against South Africa on 28th November 2018.

After having been declared as the Joint Winners at the recently concluded 5th Men’s Hero Asian Champions Trophy Muscat 2018, the team will undergo intense training sessions under Chief Coach Harendra Singh, who is confident that the National Camp will give all the 34-members the chance to prove their mettle and book a place in the final squad.

“Our campaign at the 5th Men’s Hero Asian Champions Trophy Muscat 2018 served as good preparation for the team before the Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018, but now is the most critical time for us as we look to reinvigorate our spirits and work on the areas which need improvement. The National Camp will give all the 34 Core Group players the chance to work hard and show what edge they can provide to the team,” said Singh.

“We had trained in Bhubaneswar before the 5th Men’s Hero Asian Champions Trophy to get used to the conditions there, and I believe that playing on the newly-laid turf at the Kalinga Hockey Stadium again before the World Cup will give us a good chance to prepare and analyse the most effective tactics and style of play, which can be used during the tournament. It is also crucial that we learn from our mistakes in all the previous tournaments this year, and work on minimizing errors throughout the three areas of attack, midfield and defence. It is now time for all the Core Group players to step up and show what they can bring to the table,” he said.


National Campers List: 



1. P R Sreejesh


2. Suraj Karkera


3. Krishan Bahadur Pathak




4. Harmanpreet Singh


5. Gurinder Singh


6. Varun Kumar


7. Kothajit Singh Khadangbam


8. Surender Kumar


9. Amit Rohidas


10. Jarmanpreet Singh


11. Pardeep Singh


12. Suman Beck


13. Mandeep Mor


14. Birendra Lakra


15. Rupinder Pal Singh




16. Manpreet Singh


17. Chinglensana Singh Kangujam


18. Sumit


19. Simranjeet Singh


20. Nilakanta Sharma


21. Hardik Singh


22. Lalit Kumar Upadhyay


23. Vivek Sagar Prasad


24. Yashdeep Siwach


25. Vishal Antil




26. Akashdeep Singh


27. Gurjant Singh


28. Mandeep Singh


29. Dilpreet Singh


30. Sumit Kumar


31. Gursahibjit Singh


32. Shilanand Lakra


33. Ramandeep Singh


34. SV Sunil

Also Read

Comments are closed.