IMD issues lightning, thunderstorm warning for 16 districts in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: The Indian Meteorological Department (IMD) today issued a lightning and thunderstorm warning for 16 districts in Odisha.

The districts are Balasore, Cuttack, Deogarh, Jajpur, Jagatsinghpur, Mayurbhanj, Ganjam, Keonjhar, Nayagarh,Dhenkanal, Keonjhar, Sonepur, Ganjam, Boudh, Malkangiri, Rayagada, Koraput and Gajapati.

The alert would remain in effect till 7.15 pm, an IMD bulletin issued by its Regional Centre here this afternoon said.

Worth mentioning, lightning had caused havoc in the State this year as the nature’s fury had killed 30 persons on July 30 and 31. More than 260 persons have so far killed due to lightning strikes in the State.

Also Read

Comments are closed.