IMD issues lightning, thunderstorm warning for 19 Odisha districts

Bhubaneswar: The Indian Meteorological Department (IMD) today issued a lightning and thunderstorm warning for 19 districts in Odisha.

The districts are Angul, Kendrapara, Jajpur, Jagatsinghpur, Ganjam, Keonjhar, Nayagarh,Dhenkanal, Puri, Khurda, Bargarh, Sonepur, Ganjam, Boudh, Malkangiri, Kandhamal, Rayagada, Koraput and Gajapati.

The alert would remain in effect till 9.30 pm, an IMD bulletin issued by its Regional Centre here this afternoon said.

Two days ago, 11 people were killed in lightning at different parts of the State.

Worth mentioning, lightning had caused havoc in the State this year as the nature’s fury had killed 30 persons on July 30 and 31.


Also Read

Comments are closed.