Indian cricketers rise in ODI rankings

Dubai, Sep 7 :

Indian cricketers have made gains in the latest International Cricket Council (ICC) ODI rankings released Sunday, following their 3-1 series win over England.

Ajinkya Rahane, the highest run-getter of the series, benefitted the most as he vaulted 32 spots to the 68th position following his contribution of 192 runs.

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli

Shikhar Dhawan leaped three places to seventh after scoring 155 runs and now has his captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni firmly within his sights. Dhoni is in the sixth position, 31 ratings points ahead.

Suresh Raina returned to the top 20 in the 19th position after his 160 runs in the series, which not only earned him the player of the series award but also provided him a jump of eight places.

Among the bowlers, Mohammad Shami has shown the most improvement by climbing eight places to 21st. Shami ended the series as the most successful bowler with eight for 152.

Ravindra Jadeja remains the highest-ranked India bowler, retaining his fifth spot. He trails England’s James Anderson, in fourth position, by 13 ratings points.

Joe Root once again stood out for England.

The 22-year-old, who also played in the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup in New Zealand in 2010, was the second leading run-getter in the series with 163 runs. For this, he has been rewarded with a jump of 13 places that has put him in the 29th spot, his highest ranking till date.

Steven Finn re-entered the rankings for ODI bowlers in the 10th position.

The ICC Player Rankings for all-rounders have seen Jadeja displace Bangladesh’s Shakib Al Hasan to claim the third spot.

1. AB de Villiers (South Africa) 869 rating points
2. Hashim Amla (South Africa) 848
3. Virat Kohli (India) 845
4. George Bailey (Australia) 837
5. Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka) 800
6. Mahendra Singh Dhoni (India) 771
7. Shikhar Dhawan (India) 740
8. Tillekaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka) 739
9. Quinton de Kock (South Africa) 720
10. Ross Taylor (New Zealand) 713

1. Saeed Ajmal (Pakistan) 782
2. Sunil Narine (West Indies) 764
3. Dale Steyn (South Africa) 712
4. James Anderson (England) 690
5. Ravindra Jadeja (India) 677
6. Mohammed Hafeez (Pakistan) 657
7. Mitchell Johnson (Australia) 656
8. Clint McKay (Australia) 650
9. Ryan McLaren (South Africa) 646
10. Steven Finn (England) 640

1. Mohammed Hafeez (Pakistan) 424
2. Angelo Mathews (Sri Lanka) 387
3. Ravindra Jadeja (India) 372
4. Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh) 361
5. Shane Watson (Australia) 320


Also Read

Comments are closed.