Irregularities in Odisha polls: 4 MLAs miss HC deadline to respond

Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Cuttack, Aug 15:

Four more MLAs, whose elections have been challenged on grounds of irregularities, did not respond to the notices of the Odisha High Court on Thursday.

Odisha High Court
Odisha High Court

The four elected MLAs from Khandapada, Mohana, Parjang and Ghasipura did not file their replies to the respective petitions challenging their elections within the three-week deadline stipulated by the court, which ended yesterday.

The court, however, allowed two weeks’ time more to the MLAs to file their replies as per its earlier notices the hearing of which is scheduled in the first week of September.

The High Court on Tuesday had also granted the MLAs of Bijepur, Chilika, Bhawanipatna and Rengali more time to file their replies after they had failed to respond to similar notices.

Elections of at least 19 elected MLAs and the Nabarangpur MP have been challenged in the High Court and all of them have been issued notices as per the relevant provisions of Representation of People’s Act.

Also Read

Comments are closed.