Men’s Hockey National Coaching Camp: 4 from Odisha in 30-member core group

New Delhi: Four players from Odisha have been named in 30-member core group for the upcoming senior Men’s Hockey National Coaching Camp scheduled at the Sports Authority of India (SAI) centre at Bengaluru from October 4, 2021.

The players from the State included Amit Rohidas, Dipsan Tirkey, Shilanand Lakra and Ashis Kumar Topno.

Hockey India on Saturday named the 30-member core probable group for the Senior Men’s National Coaching Camp.

After a successful campaign at the Tokyo Olympic Games, where India clinched a historic bronze and ended the 41-year year wait, the core group will begin the new Olympic cycle with the intent to improve upon this performance at Paris 2024.

The core grouped called up for the camp includes a mix of young and experienced players.

Speaking about the upcoming National Coaching Camp, Chief coach Graham Reid said, “The players are coming off a long and well-deserved break. I believe they will be excited to be back in the camp and refocus on our goals for next year. We will be going through our performance in the Olympics both from the perspective of individual performances and as a team.”

He emphasized that the players must now leave behind the Tokyo success and start afresh ahead of a hectic 2022 season.

“Experiencing success in the Olympics is great but now I want the players to be mentally and physically ready for a hectic season in 2022 with some very important tournaments starting from the FIH Hockey Pro League in February. This camp will be more about strength and conditioning and we will look at making a slow start,” he added.

Here’s the List of Players named for National Camp: 

  1. P R Sreejesh                      
  2. Krishan Bahadur Pathak
  3. Suraj Karkera
  4. Harmanpreet Singh
  5. Dilpreet Singh
  6. Surender Kumar
  7. Gurinder Singh
  8. Amit Rohidas
  9. Manpreet Singh
  10. Hardik Singh
  11. Nilakanta Sharma
  12. Vivek Sagar Prasad
  13. Simranjeet Singh
  14. Akashdeep Singh
  15. Mandeep Singh
  16. Lalit Kumar Upadhyay
  17. Gursahibjit Singh
  18. Shamsher Singh
  19. Varun Kumar
  20. Jarmanpreet Singh
  21. Dipsan Tirkey
  22. Nilam Sanjeep Xess
  23. Jaskaran Singh
  24. Rajkumar Pal
  25. Gurjant Singh
  26. Sumit
  27. Shilanand Lakra
  28. Suman Beck
  29. Mandeep Mor
  30. Ashis Kumar Topno


Also Read

Comments are closed.