New Sri Lankan government sworn in

Colombo, Sep 4:

Sri Lanka’s new national unity government took oath on Friday before President Maithripala Sirisena.

Sri Lanka flag (Courtesy
Sri Lanka flag

Sri Lanka’s new cabinet consists of 42 ministers after parliamentary approval was obtained to appoint more ministers than the 30 approved by the country’s constitution, Xinhua news agency reported.

Sri Lanka’s United National Party (UNP) led by Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, which won the August 17 parliamentary election, agreed to join hands with the opposition United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) to form a national government in the island nation and work together in parliament for the next two years. (IANS)

Also Read

Comments are closed.