Odisha Assembly condoles veteran leader Dr Ram Prasad Mishra’s death

Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar/Bolangir, July 21:

The Odisha Assembly today expressed profound grief on the sad demise of former Finance minister, Opposition leader, one of the founders of VSS Medical College and Hospital and first chairman of Bolangir NAC Dr Ram Prasad Mishra who passed away at his residence in Bhubaneswar late on Saturday night.

Dr Ramprasad Mishra
Dr Ramprasad Mishra

Chief minister Naveen Patnaik. the Leader of Opposition Narasingh Mishra and BJPLP leader Basant Panda paid glowing tributes to Mishra and recounted his lasting contributions, following which the House observed a minute’s silent prayer in honour of the departed leader.

Dr Ramji Prasad Mishra was 94 and is survived by his widow, son and two daughters.

Mishra was bed-ridden at his native residence at Radharanipada for a long time. He was recently shifted to his son’s residence in Bhubaneswar after he injured himself after slipping in the bathroom at his Bolangir residence on July 1. He underwent surgery at MRI hospital in Bhubaneswar on July 6. He was discharged from the hospital on July 17 and was staying at his son’s residence.

Born on September 23, 1920, Mishra was a doctor by profession.

He joined politics after he came in contact with the last king of Patna ( Bolangir) and former chief minister of Odisha Dr Rajendra Narayan Singhdeo and later became the first chairman of Bolangir NAC in 1957.

In the same year, he was elected MLA on a Odisha Ganatantra Parishad ticket from Loisingha constituency.

In 1959, he became the Health minister in Dr Harekrushna Mahatab’s cabinet.

In 1961, Mishra was re-elected from Loisingha but joined the Congress party and became a minister for Agriculture, Animal Husbandry, Forest and Cooperation during the chief ministership of Dr Sadashiv Tripathy.

However, he lost to Nandakishore Mishra in 1967 and 1971 Assembly elections.

In 1974, he was once again elected as an MLA of Swatantra Party from Kantabanji.

He was elected from Loisingha constituency in 1977 by defeating his nephew and Independent candidate Balgopal Mishra.

He was the Finance minister in Nilamani Routray’s cabinet.

In 1980, Mishra decided to retire from politics following his difference with Late Biju Patnaik as the latter ignored him and preferred Nilamani Routray for the chief minister’s chair.

Also Read

Comments are closed.