Odisha: Bargarh gets new Collector, SP ahead of Bijepur bypoll

Bhubaneswar: Odisha government today appointed Yamini Sarangi and Jai Narayan Pankaj as new District Collector and Superintendent of Police (SP) respectively of Bargarh after Election Commission of India cleared their names.

A notification in this regard was today issued by General Administration and Public Grievance department.

The election conducting body cleared the duo’s names from a list of three each recommended by the state government ahead of Bijepur bypoll.

This comes a fortnight ahead of the by-election on February 24 which was necessitated following the demise of Congress MLA Subal Sahu.

Notably, the ECI had ordered for removal of SP and Collector after a BJP delegation on January 29 submitted a memorandum to it demanding transfer of the district officers who were allegedly acting as political agents of the ruling BJD.

Following this, the newly-appointed Chief Elector Officer Surendra Kumar had asked state Home Department for a list of SPs and Collectors to be appointed in place of the SP Jugal Kishor Kumar Banoth and Collector Khagendra Kumar Padhi.

The newly-appointed officers were posted at Jagatsinghpur and will assume new charge with immediate effect.

The order further said that Sachidananda Sahoo, Additional District Magistrate, Jagatsinghpur is allowed to remain in charge of Collector until further orders.

For 36 years, Sambad Group has been redefining Odia journalism and bringing you the news from all corners of the state and beyond. During this pandemic, support Sambad and Kanak News by making a contribution today for our various digital platforms. Help regional journalism survive during these challenging times.

Also Read

Comments are closed.