Odisha: BJD MP Mahatab honoured with Outstanding Parliamentarian Award

Bhubaneswar: Biju Janata Dal (BJD) MP Bhartruhari Mahatab was today honoured with the Outstanding Parliamentarian Award for 2017.

The Lok Sabha MP from Cuttack received the award from President Ram Nath Kovind at Central Hall of the Parliament House in New Delhi.

Mahatab, BJD’ Parliamentary leader in the Lok Sabha, was selected on the basis of his experience, debating skills, awareness of issues and the depth with which issues he raised, official sources said.

Among others who were awarded are Manipur’s Governor and five time Rajya Sabha member Najma A. Heptulla (2013), BJP’s Lok Sabha member Hukumdev Narayan Yadav (2014), Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad (2015) and Trinamool Congress’ Dinesh Trivedi (2016).

The Outstanding Parliamentarian Award was established in 1995.

Chrandra Shekhar of the Samajwadi Janata Party was the first member to receive this award given by the IPG that also acts as the Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU) of India.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Vice President Venkaiah Naidu and Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan were present at the occasion.

Also Read

Comments are closed.