Odisha CM felicitates Kalinga Prize winner Prof Li, confers Kalinga Samman on Dr HP Mishra

Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Sept 5:

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today felicitated Prof Xiangyi Li, eminent scientist and winner of UNESCO Kalinga Prize-2013 and conferred the Kalinga Samman Award on Dr Hara Prasanna Mishra, an eminent scientist and technocrat of Odisha, for popularization of Science in the state at a function at the Institute of Physics organized by the Kalinga Foundation Trust.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik felicitating Prof Xiangyi-Li
Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik felicitating Prof Xiangyi-Li

 Describing Prof Li as a pathfinder in his field and a role model for others, Patnaik said young scientists of Odisha should take a leaf out of his books and follow his footprints to spread the wings of scientific temper so that the benefits of scientific and technological developments reach the common man.

“The idea of education is to develop a rational approach to every aspect of life. Our education system should focus on developing better scientists and better citizens capable of governing their personal actions in a scientific manner. It is our fundamental duty to develop scientific temper and spirit amongst citizens, especially students,” the chief minister said in his address.

Reminding that Biju Patnaik had instituted the Kalinga Prize under the banner of Kalinga Foundation Trust in 1951 for popularisation of science, he said till now, 67 eminent scientists from 24 countries had received this coveted award. 

While conferring the Kalinga Samman to eminent metallurgist Dr Hara Prasanna Mishra, Patnaik said five eminent scientists of Odisha, including Dr Mishra, have been awarded with this coveted award for popularization of science. 

Dr Hara Prasanna Mishra receiving Kalinga Samman
Dr Hara Prasanna Mishra receiving Kalinga Samman

In his address, Prof Li recalled the great civilizations of ancient India and China and said scientific spirit is the only way forward for mankind.

Among others, Higher Education and Science and Technology minister Dr Pradeep Panigrahy, chairman of Kalinga Foundation Trust Bhabani Charan Patnaik, advisor to the Department of Science and Technology, Government of India Dr (MRs) Ahuja and trustee of Kalinga Foundation Trust Prafulla Samal also spoke on the occasion.

Also Read

Comments are closed.