Odisha CM’s new team: Ten Ministers take oath at Raj Bhawan

Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, May 7:

In a major reshuffle in Odisha government led by Naveen Patnaik, ten ministers were sworn-in at Raj Bhawan here today.

While six MLAs took oath as the cabinet ministers, four were appointed as the minister of state (MoS).

Governor SC Jamir administered the oath to Prafulla Mallick, Ramesh Chandra Majhi, Digapahandi MLA Surjya Narayan Patro, Sonepur MLA and former Assembly Speaker Niranjan Pujari, Pratap Jena, Puri MLA Maheswar Mohanty, Bhubaneswar (Jayadev) MLA Sashi Bhushan Behera and Bhandaripokhari MLA Prafulla Samal as the cabinet ministers.

Parjang MLA Dr. Nrushingha Charan Sahoo, Bhograi MLA Ananta Das Ananta Das, Cuttack Sadar MLA Chandrasarathi Behera and Bhatli MLA Sushanta Singh took oath as the MoS in Naveen government.

Notably, Minister of State (Independent Charge), Steel & Mines, Labour & Employees’ State Insurance Prafulla Kumar Mallik and Minister of State (Independent Charge), Commerce & Transport Ramesh Chandra Majhi have been elevated to Cabinet minister rank.

“I thank Patnaik for reposing faith in me. I will perform to best of my abilities for the betterment of the state,” said Niranjan Pujari, who became minister after quitting the Speaker post in the state assembly.

“I thank the Chief Minister and the people of Odisha for reposing faith in me. I will work with the guidance of Naveen Patnaik,” said Chandra Sarathi Behera.

“I will work for strengthening the party and ensure Odisha government’s schemes reach people,” said Sushant Singh.

The distribution of portfolios would be declared later in the day, said sources.

However, Bijay Nayak, who was scheduled to be sworn-in as the MoS, was dropped from the list at last minute.

Also Read

Comments are closed.