Odisha govt appoints 9 ruling party MLAs as chairpersons of DPCs

Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Jan 25:

The Odisha government today appointed nine members of the Odisha Legislative Assembly as chairpersons of District Planning Committees (DPC) of nine districts.

Odisha Govt Logo


MLAs Balabhadra Majhi, Susanta Singh, Dr Nrusingha Charan Sahu, Prasanta Kumar Muduli, Dr Ramesh Chandra Chau Patnaik, Hrusikesh Naik, Manohar Randhari, Sashi Bhusan Behera and Mahesh Sahu have been appointed as chairpersons of DPCs of Kalahandi, Bargarh, Dhenkanal, Jagatsinghpur, Ganjam, Keonjhar, Nawarangpur, Khurda and Angul districts respectively, said an official release issued by the Chief Minister’s office here today.

The appointees will be accorded Minister of State (MoS) status, the release added.

Earlier, Ministers were appointed as chairpersons of district planning committees but subsequent to state government amending Odisha Office of Profit Act 1961 MLAs will be appointed to the post. The state Cabinet approved the amendment on January 16. Later an ordinance in this regard received the Governor’s assent.

Notably, though the state government in the last Assembly session passed the Odisha District Planning Committees (amendment) Bill, 2015, which has provisions for the MLAs to head the DPC, it could not be implemented due to some technical difficulties. At present, the DPCs are being headed by ministers only.

The amendment to the Odisha Offices of Profit (removal of disqualification) Act, 1961, has removed the provision of disqualification of MLAs on the ground of office of profit.

District Planning Committees have been constituted and reconstituted as per the provisions of the Orissa District Planning Committees (ODPC) Act and Orissa District Planning Committees (ODPC) Rules, at the district level for formulation of District Plans.

Also Read

Comments are closed.