Odisha Govt changes Khallikote University status  

Berhampur:  The Odisha Government has altered the status of Khallikote University here from a Cluster University to a Unitary University.

With this, the Government directed that the five constituent colleges- as Khallikote (A) College, SBRG (A) College and Binayak Acharya College in Berhampur, Govt Science College in Chhatrapur and Gopalpur Degree College in Gopalpur-  be disaffiliated from the varsity and re-affiliate to the Berhampur University with effect from June 1, 2020.

The students already enrolled in the five constituent colleges under the banner of Khallikote University will continue their studentship under the Khallikote University till completion, said a notification issued by the Higher Education Department yesterday.

“Khallikote University is not functioning as per the true spirit of a Cluster University. It is felt necessary to rather convert the Khallikote University into a Unitary University, which will focus on intensive research activities so as to evolve as a research-intensive university,” the notification read.

Worth mentioning, the state Government had established the Khallikote Cluster University on May 30, 2015 by altering the territorial jurisdiction of Berhampur University.

Also Read

Comments are closed.