Padampur Bypoll: Voting begins; 2.57 lakh voters to decide fate of 10 candidates

Bargarh: Voting for bypoll to the Padampur Assembly Constituency in Odisha’s Bargarh district commenced today at 7 am and is scheduled to continue till 4 pm at 319 booths.

A total of 2,57,474 voters will exercise their franchise and decide the fate of 10 candidates. Out of them, 1,29,497 are male, 1,27,965 female and 12 transgenders.

As many as 1276 polling officers have deployed for the election.

For transportation of PwD voters from their houses to booth and back, 977 Vahan passes have been issued. As many as 89 auto-rickshaws have been arranged for this purpose.

Special arrangements have been made for 79 booths, which were identified as critical booths. Webcasting is being held at 120 booths.

A total of 1413 police personnel, including 206 Police Officers, 21 platoons of Armed Police, 445 Havildars/ Constables and 132 Home Guards, and nine companies of CAPF have been deployed for smooth conduct of the poll.

The bypoll is a contest majorly between BJD’s Barsha Singh Bariha, BJP’s Pradip Purohit and Congress’ Satya Bhusan Sahu.

While the BJP is looking to continue its victorious performance in the recently-held Dhamnagar bypoll, the BJD is leaving no stone unturned to retain the seat.

The bypoll was necessitated due to the death of sitting MLA Bijaya Ranjan Singh Bariha of BJD. The party has fielded his daughter Barsha as its candidate.

On the other hand, the Congress, which has been facing major poll debacles in the state during the last few years, is trying to win the bypoll to have a morale boost ahead of the 2024 assembly elections.

Also Read

Comments are closed.