Power Cos to get 8 coal blocks including 2 in Odisha

File pic of a coal field
File pic of a coal field

Odisha Sun Times Bureau
New Delhi, June 25:

In its bid to meet the gross power demand in the country, the Centre has decided to allocate eight coal blocks to the power generating companies in three states- Odisha, Jharkhand and West Bengal, reliable sources said today.

A committee constituted under the Coal Ministry has prioritized supplying of adequate raw material to the state-based power companies to produce enough electricity to meet the shortfall in energy production.

Two of the coal blocks belong to Odisha.

It is to be noted here that, the coal ministry had allocated 14 blocks for different national power projects last year under the UPA-II regime.

Also Read

Comments are closed.