Rajya Sabha names 10 members for land bill committee

New Delhi, May 13:

Ten Rajya Sabha members have been named for a joint parliamentary committee on the land acquisition bill.

PARLIAMENTThe members are Prabhat Jha and Ram Narain Dudi of the BJP, Digvijaya Singh, Jairam Ramesh and P.L. Punia of the Congress, Ram Gopal Yadav of the Samajwadi Party, Sharad Yadav of the JD-U, Derek O’Brien of the Trinamool Congress, Rajpal Singh Saini of the BSP and Sharad Pawar of the NCP, said officials.

The Lok Sabha on Tuesday had referred the contentious land acquisition bill to a 30-member joint committee of the two houses.

The committee is expected to give its report by the first day of the monsoon session.

The government in December last year passed an ordinance to amend the land acquisition act, and a bill on the lines of the ordinance was introduced in the Lok Sabha in the first half of the budget session. Despite getting through the lower house, the bill got stuck in the Rajya Sabha where the government is in minority.

Subsequently, another ordinance was issued by the government after proroguing the Rajya Sabha and the relevant bill has now been brought in the lower house.

The key points, which were removed from the earlier law, related to the consent clause and the social impact assessment study. (IANS)

Also Read

Comments are closed.