Rohit Sharma becomes ODI, T20I captain of Team India

Bhubaneswar: The BCCI today named Rohit Sharma as the ODI and T20I captain of Team India.

“The All-India Senior Selection Committee also decided to name Mr Rohit Sharma as the Captain of the ODI & T20I teams going forward,” the BCCI tweeted.

Sharma was also appointed as the vice-captain for the upcoming Test series against South Africa.

The All-India Senior Selection Committee has picked an 18-member squad for the upcoming 3-match Test series against South Africa starting from 26th December 2021.

The Test series will form a part of the new cycle of the ICC World Test Championship.

India’s Test squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Md. Siraj.

Standby Players: Navdeep Saini, Saurabh Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Arzan Nagwaswalla.

The following players were not available for selection due to injuries and are currently undergoing rehabilitation: Ravindra Jadeja, Shubman Gill, Axar Patel, Rahul Chahar.

South Africa vs India, 2021/22 – Test series
S.No. Date Match Venue
1 26th – 30th December 2021 1st Test SuperSport Park, Centurion
2 3rd – 7th January 2022 2nd Test Wanderers, Johannesburg
3 11th – 15th January 2022 3rd Test Newlands, Cape Town
Also Read

Comments are closed.