SC rejects NCP petition to disqualify 4 MLAs

Odisha Sun Times Bureau
New Delhi/ Bhubaneswar, Apr 25:

The Supreme Court today rejected the petition of Utkal Parida of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), who was seeking the disqualification of 4 former Odisha NCP MLAs after they joined the Biju Janata Dal in 2012, on the ground that it was infructuous.
supreme court 1Parida had sought the intervention of the apex court after he failed to get any relief from the Speaker of the state Assembly and the High Court.

In June 2012, four MLAs, Amar Satpathy, Prashant Nanda, Navin Nanda and Ramchandra Hansda, who were elected on NCP ticket, had joined the Biju Janata Dal and termed it a ‘merger’ with the ruling party.

This had been challenged by the state NCP president Utkal Parida.

Also Read

Comments are closed.