Soumya Ranjan Patnaik files nomination for Khandapada Assembly seat

Bhubaneswar: BJD Rajya Sabha member Soumya Ranjan Patnaik today filed his nomination papers for Khandapada Assembly seat  under Cuttack Lok Sabha segment.

He submitted the papers at Nayagarh Sub-Collector office in presence of several party workers. Patnaik took out a road show from Khandapada to the Sub-Collector office before filing his nomination.

Patnaik had joined BJD on March 7, 2018 and was elected to Rajya Sabha. He has also been selected as the co-chairman of BJD manifesto committee headed by party Supremo Naveen Patnaik.

Patnaik had earlier been elected to Lok Sabha in 1996 from Bhubaneswar defeating CPM candidate Sivaji Patnaik.

In the last Assembly elections, he had contested from Khandapada segment from Ama Odisha Party, a regional outfit. However, he was defeated by only 601 votes from his nearest rival Anubhav Patnaik of ruling BJD. He had also contested 2009 Assembly election from the same constituency on Congress ticket and lost to BJD’s Siddharth Sekhar Singh.

Also Read

Comments are closed.