Sunrise lifts Odisha FAO 1st division trophy; Lalbag bags 2nd Division title

Odisha Sun Times Sports Bureau
Cuttack,  Aug 10:

Sunrise Club won the Football Association of Odisha (FAO) 1st Division football league tournament while Lalbag Club won  the 2nd Division  Tournament in the final matches played at Barabati Stadium in Cuttack today.

Champion- Sunrise ClubIn the FAO 1st Division League final, Sunrise Club beat East Coast Railway (ECoR) by 1-0 goal. Prasanta Kumar Nayak of the champion team scored the winning goal in the 65th Minute.

Sunrise Club was awarded with the champion’s trophy with a cash reward of Rs 1 lakh while the ECoR team was awarded with the runner’s up trophy and a cash reward of Rs 50,000.

In the FAO 2nd Division League final, Lalbagh Club was awarded with the champion’s trophy and a cash reward of Rs 25,000 while Royal Club bagged the runner’s up trophy and cash reward of Rs 15, 000.

Among others, Union minister of state for Petroleum & Natural Gas, Dharmendra Pradhan, Odisha Sports and Youth Affairs minister Sudam Marandi, Asirbad Behera, honourary secretary, Odisha Olympic Association and Odisha Cricket Association, Sanjay Behera, honorary secretary, Football Association of Odisha, Pankaj Lochan Mohanty, working president, Cuttack District Athletic Association, SK Singh, Divisional Railway Manager, ECoR, Khurdha Division were present at the concluding ceremony presided over by local MLA Debashish Samantaray.

Besides, FAO vice presidents Bijoy Das, Bhakta Ballav Das, Dillip Kumar Sahoo and Subrat Kumar Panda along with FAO joint secretaries Avijit Paul, Bijoya Kumar Das and other FAO were also present.

Ten former football players were felicitated by FAO on the occasion. They wer Digjoy Das, Amarendra Singh, Babaji Dalei, Bishnu Charan Bose, Agha Zaheer, Yudhisthir Sethi, Gopal Chandra Das, Birbahadur Singh, Narendra Kumar Sahoo and Asit Kumar Patra.

Also Read

Comments are closed.