Top BJD leaders given charge for Brajrajnagar Assembly bypoll

Bhubaneswar: Biju Janata Dal (BJD) Supremo Naveen Patnaik today appointed top leaders for upcoming bye-election to Brajrajnagar Assembly Constituency in Jharsuguda district.

While four BJD leaders — Prasanna Acharya (former Rajya Sabha member), Debi Prasad Mishra (MLA), Niranjan Pujari (Minister) and Arun Kumar Sahoo (Minister) — have been appointed to the party’s central committee, Health Minister Naba Kishore Das, party observer and Cuttack Mayor Subash Singh and co-observer Bishnu Prasad Kedia have been given the overall constituency charge for the bypoll scheduled on May 31, 2022.

This apart, the party chief assigned the poll charge to leaders including Captain Dibya Shankar Mishra, Pratap Jena, Sushanta Singh, Samir Dash, Atanu Sabyasachi Nayak and Sanjay Dasburma for municipality and blocks in the assembly constituency.

The ruling party has fielded Alaka Mohanty, wife of late Kishore Mohanty, as its MLA candidate for the bypoll to Brajrajnagar.

Also Read: BJD announces candidate for Brajrajnagar Assembly By-poll

The assembly seat is lying vacant since December 30, 2021 following death of Brajrajnagar MLA Kishore Kumar Mohanty, who passed away due to cardiac arrest.


Also Read

Comments are closed.