Two Odisha hockey players get Rs 50L each for stellar show at Asian Games

Bhubaneswar: Continuing its efforts to encourage sportspersons, the Odisha government today announced a cash reward of Rs 50 lakh each for two Odia players who were part of the national men’s hockey team that won bronze medal at the 18th Asian Games.

The two players who will receive the reward are Birendra Lakra and Amit Rohidas. An announcement in this regard was made by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik.

India’s men’s hockey team had defeated arch-foes Pakistan 2-1 in the bronze medal playoff.

Earlier, Patnaik had announced Rs 3 crore cash reward for ace sprinter Dutee Chand who won two silvers medals, each in 100m and 200m race at the Asian Games.

The CM had also announced cash reward of Rs 1 crore each for four hockey players from the state in Indian women’s team that clinched silver medal for the country in Asian Games.

Also Read

Comments are closed.