Voting for Dhamnagar bypoll begins at 252 booths

Bhadrak: Voting for bypoll to the Dhamnagar Assembly Constituency in Odisha’s Bhadrak district began at 252 booths, today. The polling is scheduled to be held from 7 am to 6 pm.

As many as 2,38,417 voters will decide the fate of five candidates– Abanti Das (BJD), Suryabanshi Suraj (BJP), Baba Harekrushna Sethi (Congress), Rajendra Kumar Das (Independent) and Pabitra Mohan Das (Independent).

A total of 1008 polling officers are being engaged for the voting process while 100 polling officers have been kept under reserve.

Out of the 252 booths, 110 have been identified as sensitive ones. Webcasting is being conducted at 126 booths.

Out of the 2,38,417 voters, 1,23,038 are male, 1,15,346  female and 33 are transgenders.

Voters can produce 12 alternative photo identity documents in the absence of Voter ID Card. The documents are Adhaar Card, MGNREGA Job Card, Passbooks with photographs issued by Banks/ Post Office, Health Insurance Smart Card issued by Ministry of Labour, Driving Licence, PAN Card, Smart Card issued by RGI, Indian Passport, Pension Document with Photograph, Service Identity Cards with Photo issued by Central/ State Govt. Offices / PSUs and Unique Disability ID (UCID) issued by Min. of Social Justice & Empowerment.

A total of 997 police personnel and four companies of CAPF have been deployed for smooth conduct of the poll.

Also Read

Comments are closed.