10 Odisha cops to be decorated with President’s police medals on R-Day

Bhubaneswar: As many as 10 police personnel from Odisha will be awarded with police medals on the occasion of Republic Day this year. The awardees will receive Police Medals for Gallantry and Police Medals for Meritorious service.

Notably, a total of 795 Police personnel have been awarded Medals on the occasion of the Republic Day this year. Police Medals for Gallantry (PMG) have been awarded to 107 personnel, President’s Police Medals for Distinguished Service to 75 personnel and Police Medal for Meritorious Service to 613 personnel, a release said.

Three personnel who have been awarded with Police medals for Gallantry are:

Constables Ananta Kadraka, Tedyourampa Sabara and Kumar Huika

Similarly, seven cops have been awarded with Police Medal for Meritorious service. They are:

B Durgaprasad Rao (ASI, Bhubaneswar), SK Anwar (ASI, Bhubaneswar), Sudhansu Mohan Dehury (Havildar, Koraput), Satrughana Baral (Constable, Vigilance Directorate, Cuttack), Narendra Pal (Constable, UPD Bhubaneswar), Nageswar Rao (Constable, RO Cuttack UPD) and Sanjaya Kumar Ray (Sepoy, OSAP BN Bhubaneswar).

However, none from the state have been selected for President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service.

In addition to this, President has approved the conferment of Jeevan Raksha Padak Series of Awards – 2017 on 44 persons which includes Sarvottam Jeevan Raksha Padak to 07, Uttam Jeevan Raksha Padak to 13 and Jeevan Raksha Padak to 24 persons. 07 awards are posthumous.

Under this series, two from Odisha will be conferred with these awards.

Master Pankaj Mahanta (Uttam Jeevan Raksha Padak) and Mamata Dalai (Jeevan Raksha Padak)

These awards are given to a person for meritorious act of humane nature in saving the life of a person.

Also Read

Comments are closed.