16-member panel to expedite RGGVY implementation in state

power lines

Reported by Chinmaya Dehury/Edited by Sandeep Sahu

Bhubaneswar, Sep 13:

The Odisha government has constituted a 16-member standing committee headed by chief secretary J K Mohapatra to ensure smooth execution of the centrally sponsored Rajiv Gandhi Grameen Vidyutikaran Yojana (RGGVY) in the state.

The move comes after the state government received flak from the Centre for tardy progress of the scheme in the state. A variety of reasons, not the least of which is forest clearance, have delayed the timely completion of projects under the scheme.

While the committee’s mandate is to recommend the detailed project reports (DPRs) and monitor the implementation of RGGVY during the 12th Plan period (2012-17). Top officials of the departments of home, finance, revenue & disaster management, energy, rural development, forest & environment and panchayati raj are members of the committee. Besides, the panel would also have representatives from the four distribution utilities operating in the state and Central PSUs like Rural Electrification Corporation (REC).

Meanwhile, the state Energy department has given strict instructions to district collectors to submit DPRs by the end of this month or risk losing funds coming under the central scheme. The Ministry of Power has asked the state government to submit the DPRs in t

The department has repeatedly asked Collectors to submit the reports for approval and onward transmission to the Centre for sanction of funds. But despite repeated reminders from the department, most districts have not submitted DPRs to the State Government yet.

As per the timeline stipulated by the Government of India, survey and preparation of DPRs for RGGVY implementation in the 12th Plan is to be completed by September 30. The state level committee will make recommendations to the Centre by October 15.


Also Read

Comments are closed.