2 senior leaders desert BJD ahead of Odisha polls

Bhubaneswar: While there are many senior political leaders who have ended their decade-long association with other parties to join the ruling party of Odisha, few dissatisfied leaders are resigning from Biju Janata Dal, as well.

According to reports, former Member of Parliament from Jajpur constituency, Mohan Jena has left BJD expressing resentment over ticket allotment for the forthcoming polls. He officially resigned from the primary membership of the party in a letter addressed to party supremo Naveen Patnaik.

“I have been ignored by the party and they have not included me in any events or activities organised by the party. In fact, I have not even been offered a mere chair at CM’s events. The party is being controlled by an IAS officer and lacks holistic discussions pertaining to burning issues that plague the state,” he said after he was denied party ticket.

BJD has nominated Sharmistha Sethi as its candidate for Jajpur Lok Sabha seat.

Similarly, ex-chairman of Puri Municipality Jayanta Kumar Sarangi also quit the conch party irked at the autocratic style of functioning of BJD district working president of Puri, as mentioned in his resignation letter.

Also Read

Comments are closed.