2019 polls: Odisha Congress finalises names of 44 candidates

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha unit of Congress is seemingly gearing up fast for the upcoming Assembly elections in the state as it finalised the names of 44 party candidates for the 2019 polls today.

“The Pradesh Election Committee (PEC) finalised 44 candidates for the assembly elections. They have been selected on the basis of winnability factor,” said Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) President Niranjan Patnaik.

A meeting of the PEC was held here today for finalising the candidates. The list of selected candidates will be scrutinised by the screening committee of the All India Congress Committee (AICC) before formal announcement.

The PEC had earlier decided that more than one ticket will not be given to a family except established leaders.

Also Read

Comments are closed.