21 high schools to have Plus Two Science stream in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: To encourage students in tribal-affiliated pockets towards higher education, the State Government has decided to introduce Plus Two Science in 21 high schools in 10 districts in this academic year.

Sources said Plus Two Science stream will be opened in 21 high schools in Gajapati, Kandhamal, Sundergarh, Nabarangpur, Koraput, Rayagada, Malkangiri, Kalahandi, Mayurbhanj and Balangir. Subjects like physics, chemistry, mathematics, biology, botany, Odia and English.

Earlier, the Odisha Public Service Commision (OPSC) was urged to appoint 230 post-graduate teachers (PGTs) in the schools. So far, 154 PGTs have been selected. The PGTs will get salary as per 7th Pay Commission recommendation. The recently-appointed teachers will soon be engaged in the higher secondary schools, said SC/ST Development Minister Ramesh Majhi.

Earlier, 26 high schools run by the SC/ST department in Mayurbhanj, Gajapati, Kalahandi, Sambalpur, Keonjhar, Sundergarh, Rayagada, Malakangir and Nabarangpur were developed into higher secondary schools in 2017-18 academic year.

Also Read

Comments are closed.