2,792 unconnected villages in Odisha to be connected with 4G service

Bhubaneswar: At least 2,792 unconnected villages in Odisha will be connected with 4G service, including the highest 465 villages in Kandhamal. Digital inclusion and connectivity for all is an integral part of ‘Antyodaya’ vision of the Government, a source said today.

According to the senior official, total cost of the project is Rs 26,316 crore and it will provide 4G mobile services in 24,680 uncovered villages in remote and difficult areas across the country.

The project has a provision to include 20 per cent additional villages on account of rehabilitation, new-settlements, withdrawal of services by existing operators etc. In addition, 6,279 villages having only 2G/3G connectivity shall be upgraded to 4G.

In his Independence Day address in 2021, Prime Minister Narendra Modi had given a call for saturation of government schemes. The Union Cabinet on 27.07.2022 approved the project for saturation of 4G mobile services in uncovered villages.

In 2021, Government approved a project for providing 4G mobile services in 7,287 uncovered villages in 44 aspirational districts across five states. The project will be executed by BSNL using Atmanirbhar Bharat’s 4G technology stack and will be funded through Universal Service Obligation Fund.

The project cost of Rs. 26,316 crore includes capex (capital expenditure) and five year opex (operational expenditure). BSNL is already in process of deployment of Atmanirbhar 4G technology stack, which will be deployed in this project as well.

The project is a significant step towards vision of the Government to provide mobile connectivity in rural areas. It will promote delivery of various e-governance services, banking services, tele-medicine, tele-education etc through mobile broadband and generate employment in rural areas.

Notably, comprehensive list of ‘uncovered villages for mobile 4G services’ include 57 villages in Angul.

In addition, Balangir district has seven villages, Balasore (11), Bargarh (12), Boudh (118), Bhadrak (16), Cuttack (37), Debagarh (83), Dhenkanal (10), Gajapati (238), Ganjam (194), Jagatsinghpur (02), Jajpur (41), Jharsugurda (03), Kalahandi (203), Kandhamal (465), Kendrapara (07), Kendujhar (80), Khurda (09), Koraput (170), Malkangiri (102), Mayurbhanj (165), Nabarangpur (15), Nayagarh (130), Nuapada (28), Puri (04), Rayagada (203), Sambalpur (81), Subarnapur (05) and Sundargarh (196).

Also Read

Comments are closed.