31 meritorious sportspersons appointed in Odisha Police

Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Apr 30:

Chief Minister Naveen Pattnaik today handed over the appointment letters to 31 sportspersons of the state who were inducted into Odisha Police as sub inspectors, constables and sepoys as per the new sports policy of the state government.

Pic: Biswaranjan Mishra
Pic: Biswaranjan Mishra

While five women sportspersons— Rasanara Parwin, Madhuri Meheta (cricketers), Rasmita Sahoo (kabaddi), Pratima Puhan and Pramila Prava Minz (Rowing) were appointed as sub-inspectors, 24 women players— Sanjukta Dung Dung, Subhasmita Mohanty, Pramila Kirsani, Ashmita Kujur, Kiran Kumari Digal, Surabhi Pradhan, Mitali Sekhar Deo, Jabamani Soren, Rachita Mallik, Alma Lakra, Pravasini Parida, Meena Madhuri Toppo, Nandini Munda, Karishma Oram, Sakina Nisa, Arati Anima Khadia, Prasanti Pradhan, Kunti Kumari Lakra, Manisa Tirkey, Suprava Rout, Hema Xaxa, Anupama Swain, Sumanti Toppo— and two men players – Tarandeep Singh and Dillip Kumar Jena – were appointed as constables. Besides, another male player Arun Santa was appointed as a sepoy.

While Rasanara and Madhuri have represented the country in the ICC Women’s World Cup and T20 World Cup respectively, Rasmita was the member of the national kabaddi team which won gold medal in the World Kabaddi meet at Patna in 2012. Women rowers Pramila and Pratima had won the bronze medal in the double squall event in 6th Asian Games at Guangzhou in China in 2014.

Addressing the function at the Kalinga Stadium here, the chief minister said the state government has taken a revolutionary step for welfare of meritorious sportspersons of Odisha by directly offering them jobs in Odisha Police basing on their sporting achievements.

“The decision of the state government will definitely enthuse our budding sportspersons who are now assured of a job in Odisha Police and hence need not abandon their promising sporting career midway for livelihood,” he said.

As part of its commitment to the development of sports and games, the state government has increased cash awards for meritorious sportspersons who have excelled in national and international events, Patnaik said adding the state government had also given priority to creating sporting infrastructure in the state.

“A world class hockey complex has been built in this stadium which hosted the FIH Champions Trophy Men’s Hockey Tournament’ 2014 very successfully in last December. Apart from this, the state government has decided to construct swimming pools in every district in the next two years and provided Rs 20 lakh for construction of mini stadium in each block,” he informed.

The chief minister urged the people to directly or indirectly associate with sports and do their bit for the promotion of sports and games to make Odisha a top sporting state of the country.

Among others, Sports and Youth Services minister Sudam Marandi, Tourism and Culture minister Ashok Panda, MP Prasana Patsani, MLA Priyadarshi Mishra, Bijya Kumar Mohanty, Mayor Anata Narayan Jena, chief secretary Gokul Chandra Pati and Sports and Youth Services secretary Saswat Mishra were present.

Also Read

Comments are closed.