380 from Omicron “at-risk” countries have arrived in Odisha recently

Bhubaneswar: Even as Odisha braces for Omicron variant of COVID-19, as many as 380 persons from “at-risk” countries have returned to the state recently.

Briefing mediapersons, Director of Public Health Niranjan Mishra today informed till November 28, 224 people returned to the state from Omicron “at-risk” countries while the remaining 156 arrived in the state in a single day on November 29.

Mishra said the state Government has made it mandatory for the returnees to share their travel details on the designated portal. All the returnees are undergoing RT-PCR test on their arrival. Those found positive will immediately sent to isolation. In case of   negative report, the returnees will be asked to remain under seven-day home quarantine mandatorily and again undergo the test on the eighth day.

“The list of the returnees has been given to all respective district administrations. They will trace the returnees and get their test   done on eighth day. If anyone tests positive after that, he/she will either be sent to institutional isolation or kept under self observation for next seven days. Besides, the positive samples will be sent for genome sequencing ” informed the official.

Also Read: Omicron: Ministry of Health issues fresh guidelines

Yesterday, the World Health Organisation (WHO) confirmed that Omicron variant, which was discovered in southern Africa last month, has now spread to as many as 23 countries.

The countries are: Botswana (19 cases), South Africa ( 77 cases), Nigeria (3 cases), United Kingdom (22 cases),  South Korea (5 cases), Australia (7 cases), Austria (1 case), Belgium (1 case), Brazil (3 cases),  Czech Republic (1 case), France (1 case),  Germany (9 cases), Hong Kong (4 cases), Israel (4 cases), Italy (9 cases), Japan (2 cases), Netherlands ( 16 cases),  Norway (2 cases), Spain (2 cases), Portugal ( 13 cases), Sweden (3 cases), Canada (6 cases) and Denmark (4 cases).


Also Read

Comments are closed.