‘Ahe Nilashaila’ to be staged at Rabindra Mandap from today till April 9

Bhubaneswar: Choklate Productions’ historical play ‘Ahe Nilashaila’ will be staged again at the Rabindra Mandap in Odisha capital from today till April 9.

The play will be performed from 6 pm onwards on the scheduled days.

Tickets for the play can be booked on BookMyShow website.

(Link: https://in.bookmyshow.com/plays/ahe-nilashaila/ET00354694).

The play, directed by eminent theatre director Lala Biren Ray, had received overwhelming response from audience in the recent past. It will now be performed by the artistes for the fourth time in Bhubaneswar.

Recently, it was showcased at the Odisha Parba event in New Delhi, last week. It was also staged at Ravindra Kalakshetra in Bengaluru during Odisha Utsav in October, last year.

“I am elated that ‘Ahe Nilashaila’ is going to be staged once again for five days. The love from the audience and the overwhelming demand has compelled us to come back again and again. I hope those who have not watched the play will use this opportunity. The drama has received critical acclaims from all quarters and we are very happy that Choklate Productions is able to spread Jagannath culture through this play,” said Tanaya Patnaik, Executive Director of Sambad Group.

The play depicts how the then Gajapati king Ramachandra Deva had to undergo untold miseries for protecting Lord Jagannath from the evil eyes of Naib Nazim. Its story is partially inspired by Sahitya Akademi Award-winning Odia author Surendra Mohanty’s famous novel ‘Nila Saila’.

The play features actors Lawrence Behera (Gajapati Ramachandra Deva), Sofia Alam (Maharani Lalita), Prakash Jena (Mohammed Taqi Khan), Shraddha Panigrahi (Rezia), Manisha Rath (Saradei), Nishant Majithia (Bakshi), Abhishek Giri (Bhagirathi Kumar), Shambhu Hota (Laxmi Paramguru), Chinmaya (Jaguni), Hadu (Sandha Suara), Govinda Mohapatra (Bada Parichha), Umakanta (Sana Parichha), Partha Sarathi (Amin Chand), Rakesh (Duta), Raghunath Behera (Jagat Seth), KP (Murad Ali), Sunil Padhiary (Salim), Sujit Kumar (Kaalu), Bipranjaya Nayak (Bisuni), Prabhat (Rauta) and Kishore, Saumitri and Satya as Pujakas.

The script of the play has been written by eminent playwrights Shankar Prasad Tripathi and Dr. Pratima Hota.

Also Read

Comments are closed.