Air pollutants in seven cities, towns of Odisha at alarming level: Govt

Bhubaneswar: Air pollution in seven cities and towns in Odisha is in alarming state due to an increase in vehicular movement and other sources. While accepting the presence of dangerous air pollutants, PM10 and PM2.5, in the air of the seven cities and towns, the Odisha government informed these places have been termed as the non-attainment cities.

Replying to a query in the State Assembly, Forest and Environment Minister Bikram Keshari Arukha said as the air pollution levels have been increasing in Bhubaneswar, Cuttack, Balasore, Angul, Talcher, Rourkela and Kalinganagar, these places have been categoriesed as the non-attainment city.

He, however, stated the levels of SO2 and NOX in the air of these towns and cities are within the limits.

The Minister said the State government has chalked out plans to lessen the air pollution level in the seven towns and cities and has been in touch with other departments in connection with this.

BJD MLA from Salipur, Prasanta Behera wanted to know at which places in the State the air pollution is increasing and what steps the government have taken to address the issue.

Also Read

Comments are closed.