All is not well in Koraput district Congress! Durga Sahu replaces Minakshi Bahinipati

Bhubaneswar: All India Congress Committee (AICC) president Mallikarjun Kharge has approved a proposal for appointment of new chiefs for at least 10 District Congress Committees (DCCs), including that of Koraput, in Odisha.

The party has appointed Durga Shankar Sahu as the new president of Koraput DCC. Sahu replaced Minakshi Bahinipati, the wife of Jeypore MLA Taraprasad Bahinipati.

Suresh Kumar Ajad has been appointed as the new president of Nuapada DCC while Mohan Parida will lead Keonjhar DCC, said a release issued by AICC general secretary KC Venugopal.

Jairam Pattanaik has been declared as the president of Puri DCC and Ashok Das as the chief of Bhadrak DCC.

Sangarm Mishra to lead Angul DCC and Asif Ali Khan has been appointed as the president of Sambalpur DCC.

The party has chosen Danardan Dehury as the chief of Sundargarh DCC while Bijoy Kumar Gomango will lead Rayagada DCC. Sem Hembram is the new president of Deograh DCC, said the release.

In a related development, the AICC president has approved a proposal for appointment of chairmen of various committees and formation of a new disciplinary panel for Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC).

The party has approved Jagneswar Babu as the chairman of AICC Programme Implementation Committee for Odisha while Sanjay Tripathy has been named as the chairman of publicity and publication committee of the OPCC.

Former Minister Panchanan Kanungo will head Congress party’s manifesto committee for the state.

Kantabanjhi MLA Santosh Singh Saluja will head party’s disciplinary action committee for Odisha while Janaki Ballav Pattanaik has been appointed as its convenor.

The AICC has appointed Bhujabala Majhi, Rajendra Chhatria, Debendra Sahoo and Pratima Mallik as the members of the disciplinary action committee for Odisha.

It is worth mentioning here that a group of Congress activities from Koraput had recently met OPPC chief Sarat Pattanayak in the capital city here and opposed any move to replace Minakshi Bahinipati as the DCC president.

They had alleged that Koraput MP Saptagiri Ulaka was trying to replace Bahinipati as the DCC head.

Also Read

Comments are closed.