Bifurcation of Bhubaneswar Urban Police District on cards

Bhubaneswar: To improve law and order in view of the rising population and crimes in the state capital, the Commissionerate Police has recommended the Odisha Director General Police (DGP) to segregate Bhubaneswar Urban Police District (UPD) into two zones.

Twin City Police Commissioner Satyajit Mohanty proposed the DGP to divide Bhubaneswar into two UPDs- South and North Bhubaneswar. A DCP will be appointed for each UPD and 11 police stations will remain under the authority of each DCP.

While Capital PS, Kharvela Nagar PS, Mahila PS, Lingaraj PS, Airfield PS, Airport PS, Balianta PS, Balipatna PS, Badagada PS and Laxmisagar PS will be under jurisdiction of South Bhubaneswar zone; Khandagiri PS, Tamando PS, Jatni PS, Energy PS, Nayapali PS, Mancheswar PS, Sahid Nagar PS, Nandankanan PS, Infocity PS, Chandrasekharpur PS and Chandaka PS will be kept under Bhubaneswar North.

Besides, Mohanty also suggested for creation of three new police stations here by diverging Saheed Nagar, Mancheswar and Khandagiri PSs.

Currently, Bhubaneswar UPD comprises seven police zones with 22 police stations besides two traffic police stations.

Also Read

Comments are closed.