BIG BREAKING: Centre to repeal all three farm laws

New Delhi: After a hard-fought battle by farmers across the country, Prime Minister Narendra Modi today announced that the Government has decided to repeal all three farm laws.

While addressing the nation on the occasion of Guru Nanak Jayanti, the PM said, “We worked to provide farmers with seeds at reasonable rates and facilities like micro-irrigation, 22 crore soil health cards. Such factors have contributed to increased agricultural production. We strengthened Fasal Bima Yojana, brought more farmers under it.”

He further said the three farm laws were for the benefit of farmers but the Government couldn’t convince a section of farmers despite best efforts.  “The goal of the three farm laws was to empower farmers, especially small farmers. In the coming Parliament session, we will take constitutional measures to repeal these farm laws,” he added.

Farmers across the country have been staging mass protest for over a year demanding revocation of all three farm laws. More than 800 farmers have lost their lives during the movement.

However, farmer leader and Bhartiya Kisan Union (BKU) National Spokesperson Rakesh Tikait warned that the agitation will not be withdrawn until the farm laws are not repelled in the Parliament.   

Also Read

Comments are closed.