BJD forms poll coordination committee ahead of Bijepur bypoll

Bhubaneswar: Even though dates for the Bijepur bypoll have not been announced yet, BJD has begun its spadework to win from the Assembly seat once again. The ruling party supremo and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today formed a four-member Election Coordination Committee for the Assembly constituency.

Niranjan Pujari, Sanjay Das Burma, Kalikesh Narayan Singh Deo and Sushant Singh were appointed as members of the Election Coordination Committee.

Worth mentioning, BJD supremo had won the recent polls from Hinjili as well as Bijepur Assembly seats. Later Patnaik quit Bijepur seat while keeping Hinjili Assembly constituency. Following this, the bypoll has been necessitated for Bijepur. Reports suggest that the Election Commission of India is likely to announce dates for Bijepur bypoll tomorrow.

Political pundits opined that the ruling party is aiming at wining the Bijepur Assembly seat for third consecutive time.

Also Read

Comments are closed.